IHRA antisemitism definition adoption overdue recognition

Liberal Senator for Tasmania, Eric Abetz, has welcomed the Federal Liberal Government’s decision to formally adopt the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance’s (IHRA) definition of antisemitism. Senator Abetz is the Chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Israel and has consistently requested the Government to adopt the definition. 

The Government will adopt the following non-legally binding working definition of antisemitism:

“Antsemitism is a certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of antisemitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community institutions and religious facilities.” 

Senator Abetz said adopting the definition was a practical, positive step toward helping identify, and to educate people about, antisemitism.

“In order to address the problem of antisemitism, we need to know what antisemitism is and what it is not. The definition provides a clear, workable definition that will help educate and identify antisemitism.

“The adoption of the definition is most timely given the increasing incidents of antisemitism and adoption puts us in league with other adoptees such as the UK, USA, France and Germany.

“As Chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Israel, I have long advocated for the government to adopt the definition and I am most pleased it has decided to move on this issue.” 

The IHRA makes the distinction, however, that “criticism of Israel similar to that levelled against any other country cannot be regarded as antisemitic.”

The IHRA is an intergovernmental organisation uniting governments and experts to strengthen, advance, and promote Holocaust education, remembrance, and research worldwide and to uphold the commitments of the 2000 Stockholm Declaration and the 2020 Ministerial Declaration.

About Eric

Eric Abetz has been a Liberal Senator for Tasmania since 1994 and has served in a range of Leadership, Ministerial and Shadow Ministerial roles.

Read more


136 Davey Street
Hobart  TAS  7001
(primary office)

(03) 6224 3707

48 Cecilia Street
St Helens  TAS  7215
(satellite office)

(03) 6376 1972