Headstone Project Charitable Status Welcomed

The Tasmanian Headstone Project has been a major winner in the 2019 Budget by being granted deductible gift recipient (DGR) status from 1 July 2019 after strong representations by Tasmanian Liberal Senator Eric Abetz.

This measure recognises the wonderful work of the Tasmanian Headstone Project and allow the community to support and donate to this worthwhile cause.

“This important Budget announcement follows months of working with Andrea Gerrard OAM and the Tasmanian Headstone Project to make the case to the Treasurer in support of the Project receiving DGR status,” Senator Abetz said.

“Having been an advocate of this project for many years, I’m delighted by this decision which will allow supporters of the Headstone Project to make tax deductible donations to what is an extremely worthy cause.”

“The Headstone Project has been undertaking invaluable work in ensuring that those who made the ultimate sacrifice in WW1 for the sake of our nation are not forgotten. There are up to 800 men who lie in unmarked graves who returned from WW1. As of today over 300 gravesites have been marked with appropriate headstones and plaques.”

“It is a matter of great regret that so many Australians that fought to defend our freedoms now lie in unmarked graves. To recognize those service personnel is but a small token of appreciation to those who served our nation. The work undertaken by Andrea Gerrard OAM and her committee is helping to preserve their stories so that their families, as well as current and future generations can remember and thank them for their great sacrifice.”

The Headstone Project has been specifically listed from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2024 for DGR status. This means taxpayers will be able to claim an income tax deduction for gifts of money or property to the Headstone Project of $2 or more, which will enable Tasmanian businesses and individual members of the community to provide even more support this worthwhile cause.

About Eric

Eric Abetz has been a Liberal Senator for Tasmania since 1994 and has served in a range of Leadership, Ministerial and Shadow Ministerial roles.

Read more


136 Davey Street
Hobart  TAS  7001

(03) 6224 3707